MINUTES of Regular Meeting - Board of Trustees Weimar Independent School District April 10, 2023

- 1. Call meeting to order and welcome members of public *–President Steve Williams called the meeting to order at 6pm. All Board members were present except Brian Christen.*
- 2. Pledge and Prayer *The U. S. Pledge of Allegiance and the Texas Pledge were recited. President Steve Williams led the group in prayer.*
- 3. Welcome Members of the Public. President Steve Williams welcomed all visitors. Present were: Joe Marshall from the Weimar Mercury, Karen McCord, BJ Ribeiro, Wes McDaniel and David Armstrong from Ideal Impact.
- 4. Consent agenda
 - a. Minutes of the March 6, 2023 Regular Meeting
 - b. Bills paid
 - c. Tax Collection Report
 - d. Board Report Comparison
 - e. Cash Balances/Investment Report

With a motion by Irma Rerich and second by Joni Van Houten, the consent agenda was unanimously approved as presented.

- 5. Superintendent's Report
 - Enrollment Report 712 students, grades Pre-K thru 12
 - Events/Activities
 - Area Track @ Weimar April 12
 - Regional Golf @ Corpus, April 17-20
 - o Regional Academics @ Corpus, April 21-22
 - Regional Track @ Kingsville, April 28-29.
 - Irma Rerich last meeting. Commended her on 15 years of service on the Board.
 - Safety Update Safety Audit at Jr. High coming soon
 - Update on HVAC & Energy Saving Opportunities Brief presentation by Ideal Impact on energy savings and estimated savings
 - Information concerning Auditing Firm for WISD Letter of resignation received from Singleton, Clark & Company, Inc. effective March 31, 2023, as a result of planned changes to their corporate structure. Request for Qualifications will be mailed to engage a new audit firm.
 - Information on Veterans Field Process *BEFCO had surveyed the property, and the architecture has confirmed no ADA changes are necessary unless a new structure is built. Working on the paperwork to make the ownership transfer in late summer/early fall.*
 - Report Board Members Continuing Education Credits *All Board members have met their required continuing education credits:*

Jeremy Maupin – 19 Steve Williams – 18 Joni Van Houten – 13 Tom Strickland – 20 Irma Rerich – 19 April Mikulenka – 17 Brian Christen -

- School Board Conference, May 17, 2023, Victoria College Emerging Technology Building *Annual Board training in Victoria. Let Superintendent know if you plan to attend.*
- 6. Consider a Longevity Incentive Agreement *The Board unanimously agreed to table this item pending additional information.*
- 7. Consider a proposal for security film on glass entrances and exposed windows. *Bids were* received from NGS for \$65,472.74, and Entry Shield for \$81,254.44. With a motion by Tom Strickland and second by Joni Van Houten, the Board unanimously approved NGS to install security film on glass entrances and exposed windows, at a cost of \$65,472.74.

The Board entered into closed session 8:02 pm to review the following items:

- 8. Renewals of teacher contracts, new hires, and personnel issues.
- 9. Closed session.
 - To deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of a public officer or employee (551.074).
- 10. Open Session Action resulting from Closed Session. *The Board reconvened into open session 9:00pm.*

With a motion by April Mikulenka and second by Tom Strickland, the Board unanimously approved the teacher contracts listed for the 2023-2024 school year, and new hires Merina Jackson, Rachael Blasig, and Julianne Kreger.

Berger, Kelly Bouse, Cheyenne	Krejci, Natalie Kusy, Claire
Clark, Melissa	Luchak, Ellen
Dippel, Myra	Machicek, Amanda
Dornak, Megan	Maiorka, Colton
Douglas, Anne	Mascheck, Chelsea
Dreitner, Caitlin	Maupin, Emily
Dyer, Audrey	McAfee, Carolanne
Ervin, Hunter	Mican, Misty
	•
Fain, Mandy	Moreno, Rebecca
Fisbeck, Lindsay	Morrison, Cory
Fishbeck, Alison	Morrison, Jill
Florus, Wendy	Mueller, Amanda
Fricke-Martella, Jennifer	Mueller, Lee
Gibson, Ashley	Osburn, Amy
Goldman, Nicole	Peach, Karen
Greene, Sarah	Pesak, Codi
Griffin, Terra	Pieper, Courtney
Hattermann, Kellie	Rehak, Jakob
Heger, Becky	Schimcek, Alison
Herzik, Kristin	Seifert, Shannon
Holt, Cayleb	Simons, Mandy
Hubenak, Kris	Slaughter, Dylan

Hudec, Victoria Kielman, Thomas Kloesel, Leslie Konvicka, Mercedes Spacek, Amanda Sternadel, Susan Streit, Amy Treptow, Holly Wied, Angela

Adjournment – With no further business before the Board, President Steve Williams adjourned the meeting at 9:01 p.m.